MenuHomeAbout The AuthorBook ExcerptUpcoming EventsContactsLinks

"Children who witness domestic violence have stories that forever go untold. I want to be their voice, slowly breaking the silence." -Katrina Carmichael

The story of Maya is told in a series of books. You are invited to share her journey of life. 

Katrina is coming back from where Maya is going!


Katrina Carmichael
Katrina Carmichael

Maya's Journey

Daddy, Why Do You Hurt Mommy?” is the first book in the Maya's Journey children's books series. This first book is the introductory book that commences Maya's Journey. In her story Maya talks about her emotions, feelings, and challenges that she is faced with at a very young age. Maya is speaking from the voice of many children who witness domestic violence.

Book 2~ "Our New Apartment " 

Book 3~ "Back Together Again"

Book 4~ "Jacob Immanuel: My New Baby Brother"- COMING SOON!!!

Continue the journey...


90% of battered women reported that their children were present when they were beaten.----National Crime Statistics Report 1993.